Hurry up and wait

Sorry for the long break.

It’s been a crazy few months full of life changing decisions and waiting, waiting, and did I mention waiting? Things are finally starting to roll, though, in the whole “where will we be/where will be living in 6 months” question.  Thank goodness.

To start the week, Jeremiah and I did our first married triathlon.  We began the morning with a leak in one of my bike tubes. Thank God for a handy husband or my race would have been over right there.  So Jeremiah saved the day and (even though I almost drowned) we were able to complete a 750 meter swim, 14 mile bike, and 3.1 mile run.  Not only was this our first married triathlon, it’s also the first time we’ve actually raced together.

white lake

For Jeremiah’s last week his guys had a few requests for baked goods.  Since leaving my job, I have been sending him, nearly weekly, with new treats that I’ve made.  Their requests were snickerdoodles and cinnamon buns.  I knew I had an awesome banana snickerdoodle recipe (http://noblepig.com/2009/08/life-is-crazy-busy/) but I wasn’t sure if I was up to the cinnamon rolls. Yeast and I are not friends. It does not rise for me despite my best efforts, but I knew I had to give it a shot. They turned out perfect! (http://www.culinarycoutureblog.com/2013/08/homemade-cinnabon-cinnamon-rolls.html) I’m pretty sure they enjoyed them. 🙂

team

Friday was also Jeremiah’s last day of work on active duty. He has been a Marine for almost 13 years and now he’s on to grad school, a new career, and the Marine Corps Reserves.  I’m really glad this isn’t the last I’ll see of that uniform!

last day

We’ll keep you posted as life continues to change over the next few months. Keep in touch!

-H

Leave a Reply

