Semper Gumby: A Wartime Homecoming

Semper Gumby is the unofficial slogan of deployment wives everywhere.  It’s a play off the Marine Corps motto “Semper Fidelis” (Always Faithful).  But ours means “always flexible.”

6 days before homecoming we were ready!  IMG_0562 All that was left to do was clean the house, get a hair cut, and wait.  Then I got sick and ended up in the hospital for emergency surgery on my gall bladder.  I told every nurse, doctor, and tech immediately when I met them that their ONLY goal was to get my out of the hospital for Thursday morning because my husband was coming home from Afghanistan.  I had amazing treatment there and was finally released to try to get ready for a homecoming in less than 9 hours.  Thankfully I had an amazing deployment wife that helped me decorate the house.driveway222 days apart, 26 letters sent, 13 care packages mailed, 17 books read, 16 Pinterest projects done, 6 races swam/biked/ran, 51 new recipes cooked, 4 homecoming signs made. It was time!
IMG_9999_2Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen is a song that we joke is like how we met: “So do you want my number?”
signFlashing stars and all, everyone on the bus knew who I belonged to!
support crewAnxiously awaiting the return of our husbands with my deployment wife
first glanceThere he is!
IMG_9999_40Best hug ever!
groupBest friends and my deployment wife.
togetherTogether…
IMG_9999_85I wore this bracelet every day of the entire deployment. I was so glad to finally take it off!
IMG_9999_102Us: 1, Deployment: 0.  Now that’s a win for the record books.

Big thank you to iHeart Moments Photography for capturing our homecoming!

It wasn’t the way I imagined spending the week before he came home, but it all turned out perfect in the end.

-H

2 responses to “Semper Gumby: A Wartime Homecoming

    • It’s a good term for military life and for life in general. Things seldom go exactly as we hope, so being able to roll with the punches is a helpful skill.

Leave a Reply

